Due to COVID-19, appointments will be held via Telehealth. Book an appointment here or call 646-396-3047 for more details.

Testimonials & Reviews

Mental Health Counselor PLLC

Michael John Arnold , LMHC

Licensed Psychotherapist located in Central Park South, New York, NY

26 total reviews

Michael John Arnold always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 26 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Michael John Arnold below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Nathalie G.
Submitted 03/31/20
Even though I didn't visit Michael as a patient, I was blessed with the experience of working with him back in 2016. Incredible fellow and co-worker. Always with a smile in spite of what the day may bring. He is one of a kind. I simply wish there were more people similar to him in this world, life would be different.
E G.
Submitted 03/28/20
Reaching out to Michael was a wise decision during this Coronavirus pandemic . He offers Teletherapy from the convenience of my home. This modality is saving people’s lives while we feel isolated during this unsettling time of self-isolation and social distancing. We may survive Covi19 , but anxiety and depression may be affecting our mental health. It is imperative that we are proactive to care for our mind and emotions and now we are able through Teletherapy. I highly encourage everyone to work with Michael who is highly skilled and is trained to handle major calamities like the one the world is now facing. He was one of the therapists sent out to help after the El Paso‘s Walmart Shooting. We are in this pandemic for the long term. We need a mental health plan and therapist like Michael to get us through these trying times.Please do not wait until you are in a crisis mode.I did not .Thank you Michael.
M P.
Submitted 03/27/20
Michael John Arnold is an incredible therapist who has the ability to focus in on the issues that the client/patient presents with .he has sincere compassion and caring and genuine understanding He has the ability to hone in on the true dynamics of the person’s problems without judging but,with kindness and knowledge.Trust is an Important part of the therapist/client/patient alliance.Mr Arnold creates a Safe environment for the patient that is truly the foundation of trust —so healing could begin. !
Ann A.
Submitted 03/25/20
I experienced depression as a deep dark hole in which my soul was in pain and my mind and body had shutdown. I couldn’t stand the sound of laughter or the light of day. Dread, despair, and fear greeted me upon waking from a drug induced sleep, and I still couldn’t get out of bed. I didn’t believe anyone could help me. It takes a skilled therapist to pull someone out of such a deep depression. Michael has worked with many types of depression and as a result has not just skill, but intuitive insight. Thank you Michael for all that you do.
Sydney T.
Submitted 03/23/20
When you see Michael you’re not a case, you’re an individual. So it never feels as if he is taking the cookie cutter approach to my sessions. He sees me and understands my feelings and before know it I’m understanding myself too and low and behold I’m feeling better. Even if I relapse and feel the same way a month later. He is patient and addresses my feelings again and again if I need him to. He is such an awesome person because he shares one of the most precious commodities a person can share with another person - TIME! Thank you Michael!!
Harry B.
Submitted 03/19/20
Over time, Michael got me to see the World from a different perspective. Crossing paths with Mr. Arnold has been one of the most significant experiences in my Life.... Maybe saved My life.”
Isabela P.
Submitted 03/18/20
Michael Arnold gained my trust as a counselor because he is attentive and always accessible .I never have to wait for a long time for him to get back to me.But most importantly, he is genuine and empathetic—in his communication and listening skills. Developing an empathetic connection with me was essential in moving forward, because I have trust issues. I am starting to feel more open and less depressed. He always makes time for me when I go through my dark place. I recommend Michael without reservation.

Fernanda B.
Submitted 03/17/20
I have worked with 3 therapists in the past while seeking help with old traumas. As a patient I need to feel there is an intrinsic connection between myself and the therapist before feeling comfortable enough to unmask my issues at a deep exposing level. In my case, only when I was at this point of connectivity did I begin to rebuild my own mental health and take true solace from therapy. Michael and I have this connection and he provided it in a safe place. Michael is a smart, kind and a very professional therapist that is helping to move my mental well-being into a healthy place.
Stuart P.
Submitted 03/17/20
Michael Arnold is a deeply caring therapist whose sensitivity, intelligence, and compassion helps many people get through the most traumatic and trying situations. I highly recommend his very human approach to the psychology profession.
Peter B.
Submitted 03/16/20
Michael is helping me get through the loss of my beautiful Labrador retriever, Buddy, of 10 years. He understands the pain I feel after losing my 4-legged best friend. After going to another therapist, I felt that they did not take my grief in a serious fashion. Michael does! He listens carefully and I know he always senses the place that I am in. He shows warmth, empathy and acceptance. I feel he is always present with me.
L C.
Submitted 03/15/20
L. C. Michael is the most caring doctor I’ve ever met. Also the most helpful. He is incredibly perceptive, thoughtful, smart, direct, honest, present, authentic and at the same time kind, respectful, compassionate, insightful and warm. I am very grateful to him and highly recommend Michael wholeheartedly and without reservation.
P A.
Submitted 03/14/20
If looking for therapist, great one to go to
B S.
Submitted 03/12/20
If you are looking for a good therapist with an effective approach to help you cope with life’s problems, look no further. Michael Arnold is the right one for you. Michael has helped me tremendously in coping with the loss of my life’s partner of 30 years. I have found him to be a rare therapist who can always help lift my spirit and boost my mood. Michael is a man of devotion to his patients, of compassion and positive energy. Besides possessing a well of professional knowledge, he has a lot of experiences dealing with losses and tragedies in life himself, therefore having the ability to understand what you are going through. Patient and resourceful, he listens carefully, interacts effectively, and connects naturally and easily with you, making you feel comfortable and at ease to discuss your personal issues. No matter what kind of problems bothering you, you will for sure walk out of a counseling session with him feeling empowered and energized to cope with your issues. With specific goals in mind for you, he can help you to break the fog and ultimately walk out of a seemingly desperate situation.
M E.
Submitted 03/10/20
After losing my partner, I turned to Michael for help. I had lost all hope. His compassion, understanding, and support enabled me to move on with my life and find joy once again in the everyday rhythm of life. His warmth, kindness, and gentle spirit reinforce his professional skills. Michael is a blessing and gift to all he serves.
P F.
Submitted 03/09/20
You will not meet another individual as selfless as Michael. He has dedicated his life to serving others and has truly been a blessing in my life. His passion for helping others makes him an ideal therapist and I could not recommended him more strongly.
J A.
Submitted 03/08/20
Mr. Arnold is an excellent, caring therapist who is very caring.
H T.
Submitted 03/08/20
I had the good fortune of meeting Mr. Michael Arnold to seek help. He is one of a kind, a safe space for me to retreat to. He has a warm and inviting personality that makes seeking help a natural thing to do. It took me a long time before I sought help for myself and I wish I had met Mr. Arnold sooner. I'm happy for a fresh start in my life with Mr.Arnold providing me support and guidance and wisdom. He is insightful and has helped redirect my life, for which I am very thankful. Mr. Michael Arnold is a treasure.
S D.
Submitted 03/05/20
No one, including me, expected a mass shooting in my own city. As a result, the company I work for hired Mr. Michael Arnold to help us cope with the magnitude of this loss. When I first met him, I felt fear, anxiety, depression, and overwhelmed. His compassion immediately made me feel safe. He gave me direction on how to move forward in a healthy manner. I trusted him and I'm glad I did. I now feel like I have control of my life again.
Amy L.
Submitted 03/04/20
Mr. Arnold was a blessing to myself and coworkers during a time of tragedy. I work in news and my station had just covered a local mass shooting. That same week I lost my grandfather, He helped me through the grieving process. I am forever grateful for his professionalism and insight he shared to help me move forward. Thank you, Mr. Arnold!
L L.
Submitted 03/04/20
Michael Arnold is a skilled caring therapist, helping me to restore my life after a extremely painful experience of betrayal. Best therapist I ever had . I can see him at his office or set up sessions via a video when I am on the road traveling because of the work I do. Very convenient. I truly get outstanding benefits from this remote sessions. I appreciate how he helps me to set up weekly realistic goals. Thanks to Michael , I started to enjoy life again.